“If There Were Windows on the River, I Would See…”

How’s this for an idea to garner support for the hydro generator and viewing chamber on the dam at Century Center: enlist the South Bend Tribune to co-sponsor an art contest for kids titled “If There Were Windows on the River, I Would See…” Kids could submit any type of media with an entry fee of 25 cents (this could be waived on request). The entry fee could go towards a fund to help build the project and members of the South Bend Common Council and Mayor Luecke could be the judges for the contest. Prizes for different age groups could be donated by local businesses.

I spoke with Jim Rider, from the South Bend Tribune who thought this was a great idea and gave me a couple of contacts at the Tribune for this project.

In the meantime, I am going to contact Jim Mazurek, Notre Dame’s new Director of Sustainability to determine if he would be interested in meeting with myself and other individuals including members of the Sierra Club, to try to help build community support and search for funding sources for this project.

