Dear Jackie,

It was so nice to meet you at today’s Women’s Campaign College at IUSB. Thank you for your contributions to this event. You are an excellent public speaker and I deeply respect your passion, particularly on the issue of childhood autism. I am keenly aware of this crisis in my work as a Pediatric Occupational Therapist.

Thank you also for your concern with the disparity in ballot access for independent and “minor” party candidates versus Republican and Democratic candidates. I appreciate your acknowledgment that Indiana’s ballot access laws are undemocratic.

At today’s Campaign College, we were schooled on the necessity of time, people and finances in running for office. As you know, independent and minor party candidates face the additional challenge of accessing the ballot. As a woman who ran for local office as a Green Party candidate, limited time and financial resources were diverted from campaigning and towards the effort to put my name on the ballot.

I would like to run again, continuing to address the issues of social justice and sustainability and drawing a connection between a healthy environment and healthy children. Hopefully, with your help, my next run will encounter fewer barriers to the ballot in Indiana.

I am enclosing a link to my blogsite which features a page on ballot access:

https://ifweonlyconnect.wordpress.com/indianas-undemocratic-ballot-access/

Thank you for your attention to this matter. I look forward to working with you in addressing fair ballot access. Please let me know who I need to contact in the legislature to begin this process.

Sincerely,

Kathleen Petitjean

Pediatric Occupational Therapist

St Joe Valley Greens/Green Party

