South Bend Mayor Steve Luecke will be presenting his State of the City Address at the College Football Hall of Fame on Monday February 4th at 7 pm.  Hopefully there will be a question and answer portion to the evening. 

I know representatives from the local Sierra Club met with Mayor Luecke about 2 months ago to present the national Sierra Club’s Cool Cities initiative.  I would like to ask if he is planning on joining mayors across America in signing on to this initiative to address global warming.  I would also like to ask if he has other ideas to bring sustainability to South Bend.

 The event may also present an opportunity to speak to him directly about the hydroelectric plant on the East Race.  As I have not yet sent him or the Common Council my letter persuading the city government to re-visit this project, raising this subject to Mayor Luecke apart from the Q&A may be more appropriate at this time.

